Our Team

Our team of staff and volunteers impact the lives of more than 8,000 kids and teens in Hartford. We are dedicated to providing a positive environment and a pathway to opportunities and life-changing programs.


Sam S. Gray, Jr.
President & Chief Executive Officer

Samuel S. Gray, Jr. is president and Chief Executive Officer of Boys & Girls Clubs of Hartford (BGCH). Promoted to this position in October of 2007, Gray is responsible for providing leadership for all aspects of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Hartford, which annually provides youth in Hartford with quality after-school and non-school hours programming. Prior to that, he served as Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of BGCH, where he was responsible for the day-to-day operations for 8 Club locations throughout Hartford.

Gray began his career with the Boys & Girls Clubs movement in 1991, serving as Program Director for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Richmond, VA. In his 26 years as a Boys & Girls Club Professional, Gray has worked in numerous program and management capacities in Richmond, Virginia and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Gray was recognized by the Hartford Magazine in 2009 and 2010 as one of Greater Hartford 50 Most Influential People; by the Hartford Business Journal in 2010 as the Nonprofit Organization of the Year; in 2009 as one of Greater Hartford Top 40 Under Forty; by Leadership Greater Hartford as one of recipients of the 2009 Polaris Award; and by Kappa Alpha Psi with their 2009 Community Service Award.  Gray is a distinguished level management member of Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s Academy of Boys & Girls Club Professionals.

Gray has been associated with Boys & Girls Clubs since the age of eight.  He believes that his journey as a club member to a youth development ambassador is a gift.  He challenges youth to dream and exposes them to things they may not otherwise be exposed, to become productive, responsible, caring citizens in our community.


Administrative Team

Sandra Casarez
Administrative Manager

Veronica Collins
Director of Human Resources

Victoria Copes
Director of Finance

Jem Miller
Staff Accountant

Humza Uddin


Club Operations and Programming

Shawonda Swain
Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Joseph W. Bumpers III
Director of Youth Services

Shivonne Morgan
Director of Youth Services

Brenda Parker
Director of Teen Services

Jennifer Pratt
Director of Volunteer Resources



Matt Broderick
Vice President of Development

Dawn Veillette Diana
Director of Donor Relations

Jessica Dolan
Director of Corporate Engagement

Mary E. Kiernan-Gonzalez
Director of Grants & Continuous Improvement

Carrie Titolo
Director of Marketing & Communications


Board of Officers

Alan J. Kreczko, Chairman
Thomas D. Jones III, Vice Chairman
Kate Conway, Treasurer
Gregory C. Davis, Esq., Secretary



Board of Trustees

Bradley Akubuiro – United Technologies Corporation
Dr. Karlos Boghosian, D.C – Capitol Chiropractic Center
Phillip M. Bonee – May, Bonee & Clark
Kathleen M. Bromage* – The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.
Lori Budnick, CPA – BlumShapiro
John F. Byrnes – People’s United/ R.C. Knox
Matthew Carbray – Ridgeline Financial Partners, LLC
Michael Cicchetti – Frontier Communications
Sonserae Cicero – Walgreens Co.
Landon D. Chase – Chase Enterprises
Katherine Conway – Travelers
Gregory C. Davis, Esq.* – Travelers
Lisa S. Dunnery – Accenture
Grace Figueredo – Community Partner
Joel Freedman – Community Partner
John Gallagher – University of Hartford
Amy Gallent – Catalina U.S. Insurance Services, LLC
Willis H. Gee, Jr. – Cigna
Jonathan Gengras* – Gengras Motor Cars, Inc.
Kevin T. Henry, Esq. – PKV, LLC
I. Bradley Hoffman* – Hoffman Auto Group
Brent Hoffman – AXA XL
Jacqueline P. John, M.S. – UnitedHealthcare
Thomas D. Jones, III – Community Partner
Alan J. Kreczko – Community Partner
Shannon Lapierre – Stanley Black & Decker
Duncan R. MacKay – Eversource Energy
Bruce Mandell – Data-Mail, Inc.
Cherita McIntye, PhD – ESPN
Earl F. McMahon – Reid & Riege PC
Brian Nichols – Robinson & Cole, LLP.
Jennifer M. Quigley – Community Partner
Jason Rojas – Trinity College
Ari Santiago – IT Direct
Shara Slattery – Pricewaterhouse Coopers, LLC
Spencer A. Sloan – Spencer Sloan Photography
Jay Sloves – Elkinson & Sloves, Inc.
Joseph B. Smith, CPCU, ARM – Smith Brothers Insurance & Smith Brothers Financial
Timothy J. Sullivan – Janney Montgomery Scott

Life Trustees

Lisa Boyle
Richard P. Brainerd*
William J. Cochran*
Alex W. Creedon, Jr.*
John A. Donaghue
Winthrop P. Eldredge*
Jay G. Fromer*
Robert B. Goode, Jr.*
Eugene T. Green*
Jan-Gee W. McCollam*
G. Robert O’Brien*
Oliver L. Patrell*
John P. Preysner, Jr., Esq.*
John Rafferty, Sr.*
John H. Riege, Esq
John S. Stout

*Past President


We're proud to partner with 99 Restaurants, 99 Restaurants and 99 Restaurants throughout the year. Order online at 99Restaurants.com and use code TEAM99 for 25% off your next ToGo Order! Let's support our local businesses! ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook


Get ready to get your virtual sweat on again this Saturday morning at 10 AM with Trainer Devone Pollard! Click here for registration- it's FREE: https://www.trainerdee.com/online-classes/calendar/trainer-dee-calendar/133-kids-train-free.html

Update about student meals: We have added one more site where meals can be picked up, MD Fox School, starting on Fri., April 3. Any student 18 or younger can pick up a lunch and breakfast at any of our 17 school locations. Please share! @HartfordSuper @HPSEngagement 🍊🥕😋